POLITICAL UPDATE

Minister of National Health and Welfare, The Hon. Monique Bégin

Minister of National Defence, The Hon. Jean-Jacques Blais

Minister of Communications, The Hon, Francis Fox

Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, The Hon. Pierre De Bané

Minister of State (Canadian Wheat Board), The Hon. Hazen Robert Argue

Minister for International Trade, The Hon. Gerald Regan

Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, The Hon. Mark MacGuigan

Solicitor General of Canada, The Hon. Robert Phillip Kaplan

Minister of State (Mines), The Hon, William Rompkey

Minister of National Revenue, The Hon. Pierre Bussières

Minister of Supply and Services, The Hon. Charles Lapointe

Minister of Regional Industrial Expansion, The Hon. Edward Lumley

President of the Queen's Privy Council for Canada, The Hon, Yvon Pinard

Minister of State for Economic and Regional Development and Minister of State for Science and Technology, The Hon. Donald J. Johnston

Minister of Transport, The Hon. Lloyd Axworthy

Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs, The Hon. Judy Erola

Minister of State for Social Development, The Hon. Jacob Austin

Minister of the Environment, The Hon. Charles L. Caccia

Secretary of State of Canada, The Hon. Serge Joyal

Minister of Veterans Affairs, The Hon. W. Bennett Campbell

Minister of State (Multiculturalism), The Hon. David Michael Collenette

Minister of State (Youth), The Hon. Céline Hervieux-Payette

Minister of State (Small Businesses and Tourism), The Hon, David Paul Smith

Minister of State (Finance), The Hon. Roy MacLaren

Minister of State (Fitness and Amateur Sport), The Hon. Jacques Olivier.

The Senate

In October 1984 the representation in the Senate was as follows, listed geographically from east to west by province,

followed by territories, and in each grouping chronologically by appointment:

Newfoundland

The Hon. William John Petten The Hon. Frederick William Rowe The Hon. Philip Derek Lewis The Hon. Jack Marshall The Hon. C. William Doody

Prince Edward Island

The Hon. Florence Elsie Inman The Hon. Orville Howard Phillips The Hon. Mark Lorne Bonnell The Hon. Heath Nelson Macquarrie

Nova Scotia

The Hon. John Michael Macdonald The Hon. Henry D. Hicks The Hon. Bernard Alasdair Graham The Hon. Augustus Irvine Barrow The Hon. Ernest George Cottreau The Hon. Robert Muir The Hon. John B. Stewart The Hon. Michael Kirby The Hon. Allan Joseph MacEachen

New Brunswick

1 vacancy

The Hon. Fred A. McGrand
The Hon. Charles Robert McElman
The Hon. Louis-J. Robichaud
The Hon. Margaret Jean Anderson
The Hon. L. Norbert Thériault
The Hon. Cyril B. Sherwood
The Hon. Roméo Leblanc
The Hon. Eymard Corbin
2 yacancies

Quebec

The Hon. Hartland de Montarville Molson The Hon. Louis Philippe Beaubien The Hon. Jacques Flynn (Leader of the Opposition) The Hon. Azellus Denis The Hon. Jean-Paul Deschatelets The Hon. J.G. Léopold Langlois The Hon. Louis de Gonzague Giguère The Hon. Paul C. Lafond The Hon. Renaude Lapointe The Hon. Martial Asselin The Hon, Maurice Riel The Hon Pietro Rizzuto The Hon, Dalia Wood The Hon, Fernand-E. Leblanc The Hon. Yvette Boucher Rousseau The Hon. Guy Charbonneau (Speaker)

The Hon. Arthur Tremblay

The Hon. Jean LeMoyne

The Hon. Jacques Hébert